Come on - it’s time to get some top refs into our league.

Published: Monday, 02 February 2026

Week after week after week. Match after match after match. Now do you believe me? I’ve been a lone voice in the wilderness for years, bit maybe not anymore.

You know what I’m referring to of course? Exactly. Refereeing standards in the PL. And VAR operators. They’re simply not good enough either.  Nowhere near good enough.

This is a subject I’ve tried to steer clear of in recent weeks because I was starting to bore myself with it. But then Guardiola, for the second week running, Emery and Silva were all very public after a series of awful decisions this weekend. It was Moyes a week or so back. And even Sean Dyche, who’s a huge fan of the technology. Park that - I’ll get back to the tech.

You’ve got to feel for Silva and Fulham. There isn’t a team in the league that’s had more bad decisions go against them.

Let’s not get into the minutia of what upset Guardiola, Emery and Silva this Sunday, but look at the issue in the round. Surely when football people (who’re always encouraged to keep their mouths shut by the authorities) start rearing up it’s time for something to be done?

This is so frustrating for me because it’s something I’ve been banging on about for too long. It’s triggering me as I write.

On the field our guys are poor. Off it they’re just as bad. I’m not a fan of the tech - never have been - but it’s not the machinery as such - it’s the operators.

More time is wasted by the guys in the bunker than by any player winding up for a long throw or a keeper delaying a goal kick, yet we’re looking to alter the laws again to stop them time-wasting. It’s VAR delays we should be concentrating on fixing.

Try putting a limit on the time VAR can waste. Ok, we got to the correct decision at The Bridge, when it was decided West Ham’s Todibo had to go following the melee, but it took five minutes to make that decision. Five minutes ffs. We all saw him lose the plot in real time. It’s not good enough.

Our refereeing is a shambles but no-one else is prepared to call it out. More than once I’ve referred back to my initial thoughts on Howard Webb’s appointment as refs chief. I was delighted when he got the job, but he’s been a massive disappointment. He still marks his own homework and he’s still more interested in the media (less so) the he should be.

When is Richard Masters going to accept something had got to be done?

Here are my solutions. Go and get the best refs we can from Europe. I’ve said this before as well - our league operates with the best on-field talent and the best coaches the world has to offer. So let’s get the best refs involved.

Stop the VAR interventions. There’s too many. On-field refs don’t make big calls anymore because they know VAR is there to cover their arses if they make a bad one. They’ve all decided it’s better to wait. They’ve made themselves poorer as a result.

Get in full-time specialist VAR operators. Not the guys who ref on-field.

Stop lying and covering up. Stop making things up on a match by match basis. Admit mistakes. We can live with mistakes. And stop treating us all like fools. It’s our game - all of us - not just the referees.

Isn’t it good to see Kobbie Mainoo back doing what he does best? As regular readers know, I’m a huge fan. It was ridiculous that Amorim ignored him as he did. Or was l right all along - ignoring Mainoo was just another ploy to get the sack and bank £10m?

Mainoo is a fantastic young English talent who should be at the heart of United’s midfield for the next decade. I’d congratulate Michael Carrick on realising that if it wasn’t so bleeding obvious. What I will say is everything Carrick is doing is based on common sense. Fair play to him.

On a weekend when David Moyes was booked for celebrating a goal I have to say I couldn’t agree with The Sunday Times Alyson Rudd any more. She wrote a great piece this weekend highlighting how much we miss Mourinho in our league. He was pure class after Benfica’s dramatic CL win v Real.

I know what you’re thinking - the ‘celebration police’ don’t usually condone that sort of behaviour, but there’s a time and a place. In added time at the Stadium of Light v Madrid, with the stakes as high as they were, was both the time and the place. Brilliant Mourinho.  Pure entertainment.

What on earth is going on at Leicester? Marti Cifuentes has gone - the seventh permanent manger to lose his job in just over two and a half years. Director of Football Jon Rudkin remains at the club.

Meanwhile at Watford Javi Gracia has ended his second spell at the club - becoming the 23rd different coach hired and let go by the Pozzo family. Director of Football Scott Duxbury remains at the club.